All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Person
  • Work
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title


In Stock









Raw Communication

Raw Communication

  • By Raw Deluxe
  • Release 30/03/2010
  • Music Genre Rap/Hip Hop
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Price: $16.84

Product Notes

Since 1998, Raw Deluxe has performed their high-energy show for audiences both nationally and internationally. The group's exciting live act stems from their well-crafted songs and strong improvisational skills. The band formed when bassist, Chris Arenas, and drummer, Chris Spano, began performing with keyboardist, Matt Fleming. The trio enlisted DJ M3, the well-noted San Francisco house/hip-hop DJ, and a host of Bay Area horn players. Throughout the late nineties, the group infiltrated the Bay Area's acid-jazz and hip-hop circuits, performing at parties such as Toph One's, 'The Funkside,' and Mr. Brown's, 'Elephunk' and 'Double Trouble'. Raw Deluxe soon made their first trip to Europe, performing throughout the Eastern part of the continent during the summer of 1999. In 2000, Raw Deluxe was voted 'Best Jazz Band' by the San Francisco Bay Guardian's, 'Best of the Bay'. The band was also nominated for 2001 Best Music Act, on, along side artists such as Green Day, Boz Scaggs, and Vinyl, where they were noted as 'One of the best original acts currently in the Bay Area.' The group was then nominated for the 2002 SF Weekly Music Awards, 'Best Soul / Blues / Funk' category. The critically acclaimed EP, 'Back to the Jungle,' was released by the band on the Reel Deal Music label in 2001. XLR8R magazine noted the CD as 'Killer jazz-funk from this San Francisco outfit, complete with horns, wailing keys and tight rhythm. They've been quietly winning loyal fans for the past few years, and with these six original tracks it's easy to see why. Check 'em out.' The single 'Get Some' was also featured on the Subkoncious Records compilation, 'Elephunk / Live-N-Direct' that year as well. In October 2005, the band released their follow up album 'Back By Popular Demand'. During the course of the recording the band enlisted guest McEes Lexxx Luthor, CB, and Mic Blake of the seminal jazz / hip-hop group Alphbet Soup. By the release of the album the McEes became offical members of Raw Deluxe. Today the band is comprised of Chris Spano - drums, Chris Arenas - bass, Matt Fleming - electric piano/organ, Tony Jurado - saxophone and features McEes Lexxx Luthor, Mic Blake and Soulati of Felonious. The group continues to maintain a busy schedule between time in the studio and performing with acts such as Digital Underground, Too Short, Olu Dara, and The Breakestra. Raw Deluxe released their newest album, 'Raw Communication', at a packed CD release party at San Francisco's Elbo Room on March 6, 2009. The East Bay Express review of the album said 'Blending live hip-hop (drums, bass, keys, and sax) with Jurassic 5-style group raps (Lexx Luthor, MicBlake, and Soulati trade freely), Raw Deluxe delivers an exuberant hybrid of jazz, funk, and hip-hop.'


Title: Raw Communication
Genre: Rap/Hip Hop
Release Date: 30/03/2010
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 812616010386